You are here

Blog: Wednesday, September 20th, 2017

The Who’s Who in Finance

The new school and fiscal year brings with it some staff changes in the Finance Department. Our purchasing team has relocated their offices to the lower floor of the district Office. You can still reach either Derrin Demaer or Isadora LaPlante at the same telephone locals. Kelly Plastow is the new “Manager, Capital Planning” and she’s located in the office previously used by Derrin. New to her role as “Manager, Financial Reporting”, but not new to the district, is Adrianne Velders. Gale Hazelton has moved from Teacher Payroll to Finance, replacing Adrianne.  In Payroll, Marie Schultze has moved from Support Payroll to Teacher Payroll. And new to the department, but also not new to the district, is Julie Lehner who will be tackling the Support Payroll as of September 18.

During July and August, the Finance Department completed the fiscal year end (June 30th) and the school district’s accounts are audited by an independent accountant. The auditors for Abbotsford School District are KPMG. The prepared statements were presented to the Board at their meeting on September 19.  Pending the Boards’ approval, the approved statements will be published on the district’s Finance website.

The Finance Department includes accounting, purchasing and payroll. If you have an inquiry, here’s a handy (though not exhaustive) email contact list:

  • Contact the payroll department for any questions about your pay, to change your banking information, records of employment, etc. Changes to benefits are handled through the Human Resources Department.
    • Teacher Payroll: teacher_payroll@abbyschools.ca
    • Support Payroll: support_payroll@abbyschools.ca
    • Admin Payroll: admin_payroll@abbyschools.ca
    • TToC: toc_payroll@abbyschools.ca
    • Casual Payroll: casual_payroll@abbyschools.ca
  • Purchasing, credit cards (including new cards, password requests, software issues), travel arrangements, cell phones, district mail (internal & external): purchasing@abbyschools.ca
  • Mileage and expense claims: accountspayable@abbyschools.ca
  • Employee computer purchase plan: accountsreceivable@abbyschools.ca
  • Student bus fees, School Cash On-line: finance@abbyschools.ca

LINDA PETERS
Director of Finance